Apartments + Offices on Twitter Apartments + Offices on Facebook Apartments + Offices News

Hong Kong Passport and Visa

Entry restrictions: All visitors must show evidence of sufficient funds to support themselves during their stay.


Passport valid for at least 1 month after the period of intended visit required by all.


Required by all except the following:

(a) holders of a Hong Kong (SAR) passport, Hong Kong (SAR) certificate of identity or identity card.

(b) British Citizens for visits of up to 6 months (British Overseas Citizens, British Subjects, British Protected Persons and nationals of British Dependent Territories may stay for up to 3 months);

(c) nationals of Commonwealth countries for visits of up to 3 months (except nationals of Samoa, South Africa, Sri Lanka and Uganda for visits of up to 1 month, and nationals of Bangladesh, Cameroon, India, Lesotho and Mozambique for visits up to 14 days). Nationals of Grenada, Nigeria, Sierra Leone and the Solomon Islands do require a visa;

(d) nationals of EU countries for visits of up to 3 months;

(e) nationals of Andorra, Anguilla, Bermuda, British Virgin Islands, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Ecuador, Estonia, Gibraltar, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Liechtenstein, Monaco, Montserrat, Norway, San Marino, Slovenia, Switzerland, Turkey, Turks and Caicos Islands, USA and Venezuela for visits of up to 3 months;

(f) nationals of Argentina, Bolivia, Cape Verde, Costa Rica (except holders of a provisional passport and holders of Documento de Identidad Y Viaje issued by the Costa Rican Government, who do require a visa), Dominican Republic, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Korea (Rep. of), Mexico, Morocco, Paraguay, Peru (except for holders of Peruvian special residents passports who do require a visa), Thailand, Tunisia, Uruguay (except holders of passports issued under decree 289/90, who do require a visa) and Yemen for visits of up to 1 month;

(g) nationals of Algeria, Bahrain, Benin, Bhutan, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Central African Republic, Chad, Comoros, Congo (Rep. of), Congo (Dem. Rep. of), Côte dIvoire, Croatia, Czech Republic, Djibouti, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Federated States of Micronesia, Former Yugoslav Republic of Macedonia, Gabon, Guinea Republic, Guinea-Bissau, Haiti, Hungary, Indonesia, Jordan, Kuwait, Latvia, Liberia, Lithuania, Madagascar, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Mongolia, Niger, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Philippines, Poland, Qatar, Rwanda, São Tomé e Príncipe, Saudi Arabia, Slovak Republic, Surinam, Togo, United Arab Emirates and Vatican City for visits up to 14 days.

Note: For clarification or further information, contact

Hong Kong Immigration Department

Immigration Tower,
7 Gloucester Road, Wan Chai, Hong Kong
tel: 2824 6111
fax: 2877 7711

Their booklet Do you need a Visa for Hong Kong? is also available from the Hong Kong Economic and Trade Office in London .

Application to: Chinese Consulate (or Consular Section at the Embassy), Hong Kong Economic Office or the Hong Kong Immigration Department.

Types of visa and cost: Tourist; Business (single- and multiple-entry); visas generally cost HK$135 (about £12), but this varies according to nationality and nature of visit. Enquire at the Chinese Consulate (or Consular section at the Embassy) or the Hong Kong Immigration Department for details. Transit: HK$70.

Validity: 3 months. Extensions are possible. Enquire at the Immigration Department in Hong Kong or at the nearest Chinese Embassy (or Consular section).

Application requirements:

(a) App